The Charcoal Epidemic… Yay or Nay ???

Is it just me or has the world gone charcoal crazy??? Charcoal seems to be the new ‘it product’ that you must have. Drugstores and beauty outlets can’t seem to stock enough of these products and now more and more charcoal products are coming to the market. The trend all kicked off when the charcoal peel off masks became popular with many Youtubers recording themselves applying and peeling off the mask. It is claimed that the charcoal acts as a magnet and lifts impurities from the skin hence why when the masks are peeled off why we can see what was in our pores…sort of gross. But are these masks good for our skin or can they be damaging and is there much research to support the use of this ‘it ingredient’??

The following is a list of popular beauty products currently on the market which are charcoal based:

  • Charcoal Capsules
  • Facial Cleansers
  • Shampoo’s
  • Hair Gels
  • Face Masks
  • Soaps
  • Toothpaste
  • Teeth Whitening Products
  • Mouthwash
  • Face Washes
  • Sponges
  • Facial Wipes
  • Nose strips

Personally I have used the following of these available products:

  • Nose Strips
  • Mouthwash
  • Toothpaste
  • Capsules
  • Face Cleanser
  • Face Mask

I’m really interested and passionate about skin care so I hopped on the band wagon to see what all the hype was about. I was a little sceptical about putting charcoal on my face but I went along with it anyway.

My teeth became a lot whiter after a few uses of the charcoal capsules but it is a really messy process. I only do this now once or twice a week because I believe it can be a little damaging to do this everyday but I do use a charcoal toothpaste daily that has a small amount of charcoal present and does a great job maintaining a white smile. I gave up using the mouthwash as I really didn’t see a need for it and it’s a bit on the expensive side compared to other brands. So yes charcoal for teeth whitening gets a YAY from me but do use with caution and be prepared for a mess!!  But do use with a sign of caution as some dentists claim that over time the charcoal can damage our tooth enamel, therefore weakening our teeth…YIKES!!

After using charcoal based facemasks, facial washes and nose strips my skin 100% felt a lot smoother and my pores looked smaller but I did not receive the amazing results claimed by using these charcoal products. I do believe some work but others not so much. I find that the pull off masks can be harsh on the skin and can damage and stretch the skin if used too much and not pulled off upwards. They are great for removing dead skin cells. I mostly use them before a night out to smooth out my skin for a flawless make-up finish. So this one I am divided on… its a YAY and a NAY. I think they are good and have advantages but can be harsh on our skin so basically don’t use daily. I like to look at these charcoal products as a luxury skin treatment used one a week or twice a month to give skin a good clean and remove dead skin cells. It’s claimed to be relatively safe but it can be used to treat poisonous bites and disinfect wounds so be cautious what you put on your skin.

Overall this is a beauty trend that I have seem before with many youtubers using the ingredient in DIY masks for some time now but it has without doubt blown up over the past few months and there is more a more of a demand now for these charcoal products. 

 

Aine xox

 

Leave a Reply

