Uncategorized

DIY Egg White & Lemon Facemask – Yay or Nay ???

I’ve been looking at different natural DIY facemask ideas and came across a natural lemon and egg white facemask. There are loads of different natural DIY facemask recipes online so I wanted to find one that worked and did give me some results. I have tried this mask over the past four weeks so this blog will take you through the steps, the benefits, and my final opinions. There are lots of masks now on the market and the charcoals masks seem to be the most popular now. Some of these masks however do come at a bit of a price so why not raid the kitchen cupboard for a natural option.

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp. egg white
  • 1 tbsp. fresh lemon juice

Preparation:

  • Mix the above ingredients together (egg cup works great)
  • Take a couple of sheets of toilet paper and separate the two sheets that make up one piece.
  • Place these in a pile beside where you are going to be applying the mask.
  • Using a brush or your hands coat your face with the mixture.
  • Then place a piece of paper towel over it and cover in more mixture if needed.
  • Resist the temptation and allow to dry for 20-30 minutes.
  • One dry peel it off in an upwards motion.
  • Then cleanse, tone and moisturise the face.

Benefits:

This mixture is said to minimise pores by shrinking them and tightening the skin. Some people say it can remove facial hair but in the times, I have done this, I have never noticed it removing any facial hair. My partner has slightly oily skin and he said he did notice a difference after applying this mask and his skin looked dry. If you have dry skin already this is super drying so, ensure you moisturise after!!! Removing white/black heads. If you allow the mask to dry you can see some white heads on the tissue paper so this is an effective method of removal. Do note that after this process your pores are open and exposed so use a facial toner of cold water to close them up so you will prevent the same problem occurring again!! Some people claim it can reduce scars and fine lines or plump up a sagging eyelid and as optimistic as I was…. unfortunately, I haven’t noticed any chance in this area. One of my eye lids is more hooded than the other and I thought that this might have helped plump up the area but there is not one sign of a change :(.

Verdict:

I must say YAY to this!!! I am all for natural and cheap methods of skin care. It smells pleasant (like lemons obviously) and you do feel a tightening sensation white the mask is drying. It does take some time to dry fully so do give it enough time to ensure you get the best results. I found it best to apply in sections as it may dry a little and the toilet paper will not stick that well. It would be great for someone with oily skin and my skin really does feel smooth and soft after doing this. 

I’d love to know if anyone else has tried this??? 

Áine xox 

 

Leave a Reply

