Uncategorized

Getting The Chop – 24 to 12 !!!

I have always has a love/hate relationship with my hair. One day I loved it long and the next day I wanted it short. It’s always the way isn’t it though??? We want what we can’t have!!! Since age 16 I have gotten blonde highlights and then dyed it back brown. I went through this process twice. Although I do like my hair blonde, my hair just grows too fast and if I kept the highlights I would have to get it re-done every month with really does cost quite a bit. So now I was left with just over 24 inches of hair on my head. It almost looked like a balayage and I always got complemented on it. It was my natural brown on top and then the blonde that had been dyed brown coming through at the bottom. With a young son, college and taking care of a house, I just wanted something that was low maintenance yet could still be styled in many ways. 

I woke up one morning last week, got up and began to get ready for the day ahead. I spent a good 10 minutes trying to undo the knots in my long hair. In the end I just threw it up in a pony tail and went on with my day. I did not even bother curling my hair or anything because my hair was so heavy it didn’t really hold the curls unless I went around with rock hard hair due to hairspray and risk my hair going on fire when lighting a candle!! That evening I really was contemplating getting it cut. I headed off to a football match I was playing and during the game my pony tale came around and flicked me in the eye. Enough was enough. I then woke up the next day in two minds whether to go for the chop or keep it.

I really don’t know why I was feeling so emotional. It’s just hair at the end of the day, isn’t it??? I had never been so indecisive in my whole life. It will always grow back anyway if I don’t like it I kept telling myself. I couldn’t understand why this was beginning to be such a big deal for me. 

The next day I woke up and went straight to th hair salon. I remember stilling in the seat waiting for my stylist Ashling to come over. I was bricking it!!! I kept looking at the door and seeing if I would get away with slipping out. Or I could have just asked for a wash and blowdry. The minute she came over and asked me what I wanted I just knew straight away I wanted the drastic change. I simply said “I want it off”. She did try to talk me into keeping it at about 16 inches but I just wanted shorter. So we decided on a layered style and off I went for my wash. It was weird I was nervous and excited. It all felt real when the scissors  came out and all of a sudden a huge weight was lifted off my head. I still wanted shorter so finally we reached 12 inches. I couldn’t believe how light I felt. My hair was no longer looking straight and dead. It was bouncy and had new life. I could not wait to go and show my other half even though he loved my hair long.

Getting ready is now a breeze!!! I can still curl and style my hair and it holds. Drying time now is like less than 5 minutes where it could take 15-20 to detangle and dry my long locks. I am looking forward to my hair growing back longer again. This time it will look healthy. I couldn’t believe the effect it had on me. I’m so happy I went for it. The 12 inches off made such a difference. I no longer hate my hair and dread washing it. I suppose it’s one of those things we get attached to and sometimes we aren’t open to change.

Áine xox

Leave a Reply

