Real Techniques Starter Set – A Good Start To Your Look??

Overview:

The next purchase of mine from the ‘Real Techniques’ brand was their ‘starter set’. This make-up brush set’s main focus is the eye area. The set comes with five shiny purple brushes. I’m so happy now as I have the full purple brush collection! I am fussy about the eye brushes I use and my go to brush at the moment for my eye make-up is the Inglot 6SS brush and the Black Canvas E24 brush. I wanted to give the real techniques eye brushes a go as I have read great things about them and they are super affordable. From using their other products they really are a good quality and affordable brand. You can purchase the brushes separately but I found it better value to purchase the set. So how did I find these brushes??

Price:

I must say they are a really affordable set of brushes. I managed to get them on sale for €19.99 but the normal retail value is €29.99. Like I have mentioned in my other Real Techniques blogs, shop around as many retailers often have them at a sale price. My heart is a little bit broke as I love a bargain, but I just checked out the real techniques website and they currently have this brush set at €9.56!! I mean a total steal!! Just wow!! If you can afford to wait for delivery this is an amazing price. Although when I checked shipping to me it was an extra €9.00. They really are an affordable brand and BE SURE to shop around before purchasing.

What’s Included:

As I said above, this collection includes five shiny purple brushes. Their “five steps to enhanced eyes”. The set includes the following brushes:

  1. Deluxe Crease Brush
  2. Base Shadow Brush
  3. Accent Brush
  4. Fine Liner Brush
  5. Brow Brush

The deluxe crease brush is quite a large brush for the crease area. This brush is a great brush for applying that transition colour and for blending out the eyeshadow. The brush picks up a fair amount of pigment and applied it perfectly. The bristles are so soft and glide effortlessly across the eye area. I mainly used this brush when I had finished my eye make-up just to really blend out any harsh lines that I had left. I really would recommend this brush as it is a great blending tool and was also easy to clean.

The next brush in the collection is the base shadow brush. It’s a good brush for picking up product and applying it but for me I did find faults. It’s a bit too fluffy of a brush for me. I was good at applying light colours but any darker shades seem to go a little bit everywhere. I used this also to apply my transition colour and it did so really well. When using this brush again I think I will only use it to apply my transition colour and then use the crease brush to blend further. It also was easy to clean and super soft.

The accent brush in the is the next brush in the collection. I used this brush for doing cut-creases and for applying highlighter on my brow bone. It’s a small flat brush so it’s great for doing detailed work. It again was soft and easy to clean and could also be used to tidy up the eye area with concealer. I really love this brush as it really helped my cut-crease game.

The fine liner brush was hugely disappointing to me. The bristles just didn’t stay together for long and I found it difficult to use for doing a winged liner. I did use it to smudge out my under-eye liner and it did a great job, so it’s not a total fail for me. I did pick up their silicone liner brush too and this is a great brush for applying eye liner and I would totally recommend it.

Finally we have the brow brush. I don’t use is as a brow brush though! I do think it is a little too big for a brow brush and because I have their slanted brow brush which is amazing, so that’s why I haven’t used it for its purpose. It is great however at applying eyeshadow. If you want to wing out your eyeshadow then thins is an amazing brush to do so. It picks up product well and the angle is fab! I angle my eyeshadow with this brush and the apply my eyeliner with the silicone liner brush. The brow brush creates a great base line for my winged liner. So yes, I really recommend this brush for this reason. Maybe if you have bigger brows you will find this brush works for you, but for me it was too big and I found it harder to really detail my brows.

The Packaging:

The packaging is a shiny purple and just like the brow set and core set, you can see the brushes through the packaging. This is great as you can really get a proper look at the brushes and bristles. Their packaging is attractive, simple and clean. The products really stand out and look attractive on the shelf. The brushes come in a white case which is grey on the inside and converts into a brush stand which is a pretty cool idea and looks attractive on my vanity when I have them out. I do however have the same problem with the white case. It got dirty easily in my makeup bag and it was hard to scrub the make-up off, so really the case isn’t white anymore unfortunately. This is minor but for such a useful and attractive case it was disappointing. But I’ll get over it and just make sure I put the case in a separate department. (or just get over a smudge of make-up on the case!!)

Those All-Important Ratings:  

I really try to be fair about my ratings. I rarely give a 10/10 because there can always be a better product out there. I have used similar brushes so I believe these ratings are in comparison to other products out there. Overall I would recommend this brush set, especially to someone who is just starting out buying make-up brushes as there are many uses for the brushes included in this set.

Deluxe Crease Brush: 7/10

Base Shadow Brush: 6/10

Accent Brush: 8.5/10

Finer Liner Brush: 4/10

Brow Brush: 6/10

Final Thought:

Real Techniques really is a great quality brand and the pricing is very affordable. (Be sure to shop around) The brushes haven’t lost any hairs yet after a couple of weeks using them. I really wanted to put these brushes to the test and not base my review on a first impression. The brushes are all made from synthetic materials and are quite easy to clean and are 100% cruelty free. They are a great addition to your make-up bag and are also great for travelling. Lately I have just been bringing these brushes when travelling as the take up no room and they are all together in the case. I would love to know if you have used these products too and your thoughts.

I hope you enjoyed my blog. I am now on Twitter @OMGAINSEY and you can also see me on my Youtube channel @OMGAINSEY also. There you will find similar reviews and tutorials and also giveaways.

Áine xox

Leave a Reply

